Thursday, October 8, 2009

75th Anniversary of GSMNP postal stamp

On this day in 1934, the US Postal Service began selling the 10-cent Great Smoky Mountains National Park stamp to commemorate the official birth of the park earlier in that same year.

The stamp featured a view of Mount LeConte.

1934 was established as the "National Parks Year" by the US Postal Service. There were 10 stamps issued that year dedicated to national parks in denominations of 1-cent to 10-cents, inclusively. The stamp issued for the Smokies had the highest denomination of all ten stamps.

The stamps, issued in order by denomination size, and in chronological order that year, were as follows: Yosemite, Grand Canyon, Mt. Rainier, Mesa Verde, Yellowstone, Crater Lake, Acadia, Zion, Glacier and the Smoky Mountains.

Jeff Detailed information on trails in the Smoky Mountains; includes trail descriptions, key features, pictures, video, maps, elevation profiles, news, hiking gear store, and more.

No comments: